Wunderlist Streamlines and Motivates

Getting things done on time has never been a problem for me using a notebook and pen. However, in my current position I am responsible for delegating work, setting deadlines and making sure others do their work. As head foreign EFL instructor at my school, I am coordinating the creation of an entire set of EFL modules to follow HMH’s Journeys. All first semester I relied on an office message board to put up deadlines and track progress. This was basically my notebook strategy enlarged, immobile, and useless once one stepped outside the office. This week I compiled the data from the message board into Wunderlist, a free website for making cloud-based to-do lists, which immediately solved two of my problems and had an unexpected bonus.

Wunderlist

First, Wunderlist is accessible from anywhere and my team was no longer tied to the message board. By sharing my lists, which I control and update, people could check assignments and schedules from home or on their mobile devices. As I set up individual assignments within each list, Wunderlist also allowed everyone to see his own progress compared to others. There seemed to be some unspoken need not to be last.

Second, Wunderlist records communication. When we are not in class, my nine colleagues and I inhabit one big open office that lends itself to plenty of discussion and idea sharing. However, all ten of us are rarely there at the same time, so when I answer questions about curriculum or planning activities, someone is invariably missing out. Wunderlist’s ability to post topic related questions and answers for all to see keeps everyone in the loop and prevents the same question being asked multiple times.

Wunderlist has been an invaluable addition to our office workflow and all with a learning curve so gentle you barely feel it.

2 thoughts on “Wunderlist Streamlines and Motivates

  1. Wow, it sounds like Wunderlist has turned out to be a pretty nice tool for you, and has solved more problems than it originally intended to accomplish. I really like the way you’re using it as a lightweight project management system; I have experience with a few myself, but alas I’m not as dedicated to a process as you seem to be here. Here’s to hoping that the tool continues to work for you and your colleagues without creating too much pressure to be ahead of everyone else 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the feedback Ben. I had initially begun investigating Evernote as a personal project planner until I watched Week 4’s office hours. After both you and Allison mentioned Wunderlist, I decided to take a closer look. Since, I already use Prezi as a platform to brainstorm, plan, and develop ideas and personal projects, I figured Wunderlist could fill a different role. The “pressure” I mentioned usually adds to our office banter and is good fun. I also wanted to mention that although I have not found the time to chime in to office hours, I have watched every one via YouTube and find them extremely helpful. Even if its just for peace of mind that I know what’s going on.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

